clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Superiority Burger, Melissa Weller, Wildair, and Ken Friedman Make the JBFA Semifinalists List

New, 2 comments

New York City has a strong showing on the semifinalists list.

Daniel Krieger

The James Beard Foundation just released its list of semifinalists for the 2016 Restaurant & Chef Awards. There are some major surprises on here — Aldo Sohm gets a nomination for the glassware company he endorses, for one thing — plus a bunch of names that have received plenty of awards in the past. The final list of nominees will be announced on March 15, and the big ceremony will take place on May 2 at the Lyric Opera of Chicago. Here are the NYC chefs, restaurants, brewers, sommeliers, and operators that made the semifinalists list.

Best New Restaurant: Superiority Burger, Wildair

Outstanding Baker: Zachary Golper (Bien Cuit), Melissa Weller (Sadelle’s)

Outstanding Bar Program: Maison Premiere

Outstanding Chef: Andrew Carmellini (for Locanda Verde, specifically)

Outstanding Pastry Chef: Ghaya Oliveira (Daniel), Jennifer Yee (Lafayette)

Outstanding Restaurant: Frankies 457, Momofuku Noodle Bar, Craft, The Spotted Pig

Outstanding Restaurateur: Ken Friedman (The Spotted Pig, The Breslin, etc.), Andrew Tarlow (Diner, Marlow & Sons, etc.)

Outstanding Service: Eleven Madison Park, Blue Hill at Stone Barns

Outstanding Wine Program: Momofuku Ko,

Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional: Aldo Sohm (***Zalto Glassware****), Jeppe Jarnit-Bjergsø (Torst/Evil Twin)

Rising Star of the Year: Angela Dimayuga (Mission Chinese Food), Elise Kornack (Take Root), José Ramírez-Ruiz (Semilla), Matt Rudofker (Momofuku Ssam Bar), Daniela Soto-Innes (Cosme)

Best Chef New York City: Nick Anderer (Marta), Jonathan Benno (Lincoln), Rawia Bishara (Tanoreen), Marco Canora (Hearth), Mario Carbone and Rich Torrisi (Carbone), John Fraser (Narcissa), Markus Glocker (Bâtard), James Kent (The NoMad), Anna Klinger (Al di Là Trattoria), Anita Lo (Annisa), Ignacio Mattos (Estela), George Mendes (Aldea), Carlo Mirarchi (Blanca), Joe Ng (RedFarm), Alex Raij and Eder Montero (Txikito), Bryce Shuman (Betony), Justin Smillie (Upland), Alex Stupak (Empellón Cocina), Jonathan Waxman (Barbuto), Jody Williams (Buvette)