clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Announcing the 2010 Eater Award Winners for NYC

It is time now—horns, trumpets, fanfare, fireworks, dancing acrobats—to announce the winners of the Eater Awards for the year 2010, presented by GREY GOOSE. In 50 categories spanning seven cities, the winners comprise a diverse bunch of the finest and most interesting chefs, operators, and characters in the country. We applaud them. You are hereby instructed to applaud them. So, without further ado—actually, a few quick pre-ambling thoughts....

To recap, Eater's local editors in NYC, LA, SF, Chicago, Portland, Austin, and Miami nominated candidates for four major local categories: Restaurant of the Year, So Hot Right Now Restaurant, Chef of the Year, and Shaker of the Year. Eater readers then voted to narrow the field to a final three in each category. From that final three, the Eater editorial team picked a winner. In very rare cases, we exercised Rule 17, Sub. 19, which allows for veto of the popular vote. (This rule was used just once in 2010.) In addition to these main stage winners, said Eater editorial team has named worthy winners in more specialized categories, for myriad notable achievements.

Nominees and winners alike will be feted at a party tonight in Downtown Manhattan. Those winners that couldn't make it should watch their mail for packages containing cans of Italian peeled tomatoes—and some other goodies. And now, without further ado, the winners in New York. Click through for the full rundown of winners across the country on Eater National.

2010_10_eaterawardsVOTE.jpgEATER AWARDS 2010

Restaurant of the Year
Nominees: ABC Kitchen, The Breslin, Del Posto, Eleven Madison Park, Torrisi Italian Specialties, Roberta's
Finalists: Del Posto, Eleven Madison Park, Roberta's
Winner: Torrisi Italian Specialties*
[*Eater Awards Rule 17, Sub. 19 invoked]

So Hot Right Now
Nominees: Burger & Barrel, The Lambs Club, Lotus of Siam, M. Wells, Osteria Morini, Peels
Finalists: Burger & Barrel, M. Wells, Osteria Morini
Winner: Osteria Morini

Chef of the Year
Nominees: Einat Admony (Balaboosta), Daniel Humm (Eleven Madison Park), Dan Kluger (ABC Kitchen), Mark Ladner (Del Posto), Anita Lo (Annisa), Michael White (Alto, Convivio, Marea, Osteria Morini)
Finalists: Daniel Humm (Eleven Madison Park), Mark Ladner (Del Posto), Michael White (Marea, Osteria Morini, Convivio, Alto)
Winner: Michael White (Alto, Convivio, Marea, Osteria Morini)

Shaker of the Year
Nominees: Damon Boelte (Prime Meats), Jim Meehan (PDT); Julie Reiner (Clover Club); Greg Seider (Summit); Phil Ward (Mayahuel); Yana Volfson (Freemans, Peels)
Finalists: Damon Boelte (Prime Meats), Jim Meehan (PDT), Yana Wolfson (Freemans/Peels)
Winner: Yana Volfson (Freemans, Peels)

Keith McNally Restaurant of the Year
Awarded annually to the Keith McNally restaurant that opened closest to press time.
Winner: Pulino's

Danny Meyer Empire Builder of the Year
In recognition of a chef, restaurateur or team whose heads-down, unbridled need for an empire in 2010 came closet to matching that of Empire Builder Meyer himself.
Nominees: Michael Bao, Chris Cannon and Michael White, Dave Chang and Christina Tosi, Scott Conant, Ken Friedman, Gabriel Stulman
Winner: Chris Cannon and Michael White

Jean-Georges Vongerichten Award for Quietly Killing It
Awarded to the person or team whose 2010 ascent was most ninja-like.
Winner: Frank Falcinelli and Frank Castronovo

Daniel Boulud Award for Most Originally Named Restaurant of the Year
Named in honor of the best restaurant namer there ever was.
Winner: Fat Radish

Eric Ripert's Kids Award
Awarded to a young chef who would benefit most from a day of serious Buddhist training from Eric Ripert.
Winner: César Ramirez

Thomas Keller Benefit-of-the-Doubt Award
Presented to the Keller Alum who will surely get it right because he worked for Keller. He will, right?
Winner: Jonathan Benno (Lincoln)

Tom Colicchio Up-and-Coming Stone-Cold Hustler Award
Blink and you'll miss Tom Colicchio inking another lucrative deal. (Just now he signed on to endorse a line of toothpicks.) The winner of this prize will someday command the cheddar similarly.
Winner: David Chang

Comeback of the Year
Presented to that restaurant whose return from the dead proved most grand.
Winner: The John Dory

Shitshow of the Year, New York
Nominees: Abe + Arthurs, Bar Artisanal, Kenmare, The Lion, Rouge Tomate, Shang
Winner: Kenmare

Spectacle of the Year, New York
Nominees: 4Food, Ace Hotel, Josh Ozersky's Wedding, Marcus Samuelsson, McNally vs. Platt, Tavern on the Green
Winner: Josh Ozersky's Wedding (and Subsequent Media Shitstorm)

Eater Door Prize for Toughest Door of the Year
Nominees: The Boom Boom Room, Jane Hotel, Kenmare, Le Bain, Provocateur
Winner: The Boom Boom Room

For a ton more national winners (Ruth Reichl! Marcus Samuelsson!) and all of the chef and restaurateur winners across the country click through here for some major reveals!
The Eater Awards 2010 would not be possible not only without presenting sponsor GREY GOOSE Vodka but also the event's product sponsors—Starbucks Flavored VIA, Whole Foods Market, USA Pears, Sixpoint Craft Ales, Astor Wines & Spirits, and Forever Cheese—and participating restaurants—Momofuku Milk Bar, The John Dory, Convivio, Pok Pok, Public, and Prime Meats. We salute them all.

Starbucks_Via_EA.jpg Whole_Foods_EA.jpg Forever_Cheese_EA.jpg USA_Pears_EA.jpg Astor_EA.jpg Sixpoint_EA.jpg

Momo_EA.jpg Prime_Meats_EA.jpg John_Dory_EA.jpg PokPok_EA.jpg Convivio_EA.jpgPublic_EA.jpg

Torrisi Italian Specialties

250 Mulberry Street, New York, NY 10012 (212) 965-0955 Visit Website

Osteria Morini

218 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10012 (212) 965-8777 Visit Website